Creating green economies in Africa!

During the last decade, European countries have been developing their economies by making extensive use of limited resources. The environmental impact of such a fast pace development has not been measured. However, today, with climatic changes and new technologies, emerging economies have to face new challenges. They have to achieve development while preserving the environment, being energy efficient and sustainable in their efforts. In the case of the African continent, the creation of a “green economy”, which will bring together economic growth and sustainability, has been addressed. But when will it turn into reality?

At a time of full economic growth, Africa’s major objective is to progress while abiding to the principals of the green economy. One of the continent’s motivation is to ensure that the actual and future generation have the necessary amount of renewable resources to improve the quality of life of many Africans.

The green economy model is based on the idea that an economy can create revenue and employment with the help of investments. The objective is to reduce greenhouse gas and protect a country’s biodiversity and eco-system. Moreover, a green economy requires a rational management of natural resources on which the growth depends for the improvement of human well-being and social equity.

The issues addressed by African stakeholders are: demographic challenges, food safety, energy security, climatic change, healthy growth and greater equity in the allocation of resources.

African leaders admit that a green economy represents an opportunity for a sustainable development. Many countries have started to shift to this model. Here are a few examples:

  • The development of organic farming in Uganda and Tunisia (285 000 hectares of land are meant for biological agriculture in Tunisia).
  • The construction of green cities in Morocco, Egypt and Algeria.
  • Public transports are also concerned, as they are set to get cleaner in many countries.

For most of the African countries, the urgency is to continue growing but by adding their populations to the equation. Growth should also be environmentally sustainable while creating future employment.

However, the public policies advocated tend to slow down the economy. Policymakers are still reluctant to changes and are more in favour of traditional activities. In fact, without political support, which largely accounts for investment decisions, there will be no change.

Unfortunately, inequalities do exist between countries with distinct development speed.

The states need to act together to develop a global vision by redirecting choices of investment towards activities which favour ecological conversion. There is also the need to set up coherent plans when it comes to investment policies, employment, and Research and Development.

Consumer behaviour and companies also need to evolve to be even more Eco-friendly. With this in mind, the States will have to come up with informative and educative campaigns, while creating tax instruments, incentives and price signals.

0 Comments

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

©2019 NH Consulting, All rights reserved

en_USEnglish
fr_FRFrench en_USEnglish

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?

L’économie verte en Afrique : où en est-on ?

Durant le siècle dernier, les pays européens se sont développés en utilisant massivement des ressources limitées, sans pour autant évaluer l’impact environnemental de ce développement. Or, aujourd’hui avec le changement climatique et les nouvelles technologies, l’enjeu des économies émergentes est de se développer en prenant en compte l’aspect environnemental, énergétique, et durable. L’Afrique est un des continents qui approfondis ses réflexions au sujet de l’économie verte pour concilier croissance économique et développement durable. Mais où en est-elle ?

En pleine période de croissance, l’Afrique a pour objectif de se développer en adoptant une économie verte. Une de ses motivations est d’assurer à la génération actuelle et future, des ressources nécessaires et renouvelables pour offrir au peuple africain une amélioration de son niveau de vie.

L’économie verte est basée sur le concept qu’une économie puisse créer des revenus et des emplois grâce à des investissements qui réduisent les émissions de CO2 et la pollution, et par conséquent, les chances d’affecter la biodiversité et les écosystèmes. L’économie verte suppose une gestion rationnelle des ressources naturelles sur lesquelles repose la croissance pour améliorer le bien-être humain et l’équité sociale.

Les enjeux qui interpellent les acteurs Africains sont actuellement : les enjeux démographiques, de sécurité alimentaire, énergétique, de changement climatique, de croissance saine et d’équité dans la répartition.

Les dirigeants africains reconnaissent que l’économie verte représente une opportunité pour un développement durable. De nombreux pays débutent leurs mutations en faveur de l’économie verte.  Voici quelques exemples :

  • Le développement de l’agriculture biologique en Ouganda et en Tunisie (285 000ha sont réservés à l’agriculture biologique en Tunisie).
  • La construction de villes vertes au Maroc, en Égypte, en Algérie
  • Les transports publics sont eux aussi concernés, ils doivent devenir propres dans de nombreux pays.

Pour la majorité des pays africains, l’urgence est de pouvoir garantir à sa population une croissance socialement inclusive et durable sur le plan environnemental, accroissant les opportunités de créations d’emplois futurs.

Néanmoins, l’économie est freinée par des politiques publiques réticentes au changement et en faveur des activités traditionnelles. Or sans le soutien des politiques qui déterminent les décisions d’investissements, aucun changement ne pourra être effectué.

Malheureusement, des inégalités existent entre les pays qui ne s’inscrivent pas tous dans ce mouvement à la même vitesse.

Les États doivent alors unir leurs forces en développant une vision globale. Ils devraient envisager une réorientation des choix d’investissements en priorisant les investissements dans les domaines qui favorisent la conversion écologique. Il faudrait également mettre en place des plans cohérents de politique d’investissements, d’emploi, d’éducation, et de Recherche et Développement.

Le comportement des consommateurs et entreprises doit lui aussi évoluer en faveur de cette économie verte. C’est dans cet optique que les États commencent à mettre en place des campagnes d’information et d’éducation, tout en créant des instruments fiscaux, mesures incitatives, signaux prix.

0 Commentaires

Laisser une réponse

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

*

©2019 NH Consulting. Tous droits réservés.

fr_FRFrench
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrench

Vous connecter avec vos identifiants

Vous avez oublié vos informations ?